Practical Analysis

When a Harvest Fails Does Commercial Liability Insurance Respond

A disappointing yield, a damaged crop and a negligent recommendation are different insurance problems. Canadian CGL principles help identify which losses may trigger liability coverage and which may remain outside it.

The amount a farmer loses at harvest may be easy to state. Explaining what caused the loss, who is legally responsible and whether a liability insurer agreed to pay it can be considerably harder. A crop can produce fewer bushels because of poor growing conditions, a flawed seed mixture, defective equipment, chemical exposure or a recommendation that didn't match the conditions in the field. Some of those events may cause physical damage to existing plants. Others may leave a farmer with healthy plants that simply never delivered the expected yield.

Commercial general liability insurance is designed to respond to defined liabilities, not to guarantee production or the quality of every agricultural decision. The distinction becomes particularly important when an agronomist, seed supplier, equipment manufacturer or custom applicator is sued by a farmer whose harvest fell short.

Start with the property, not the dollar figure

A typical CGL insuring agreement asks whether the insured has become legally obligated to pay damages because of bodily injury or property damage caused by an occurrence during the relevant coverage period. The definitions and endorsements issued with the actual policy determine how that question is answered. A revenue loss of $500,000 doesn't itself identify the damaged property or show that an accident occurred.

Imagine 2 neighbouring canola fields. One receives a chemical application that physically injures established plants and causes visible deterioration. The other receives a fertilizer recommendation that doesn't achieve the anticipated yield, but no injury or loss of use of tangible property has yet been demonstrated. Both farmers may claim substantial lost revenue. The first example presents an identifiable physical injury to crops, subject to proof of causation. The second demands closer attention to what physically happened and whether the loss is only the difference between what the farmer produced and what the farmer expected.

The Supreme Court of Canada addressed the meaning of property damage and accident in Progressive Homes Ltd. v Lombard General Insurance Co. of Canada, 2010 SCC 33. It rejected the idea that faulty work can never cause an accident and explained that damage needn't be sudden or limited to another owner's separate property to fall within the wording before the Court. The decision arose from construction damage and concerned the duty to defend. It doesn't declare every unsuccessful agricultural service a covered occurrence. What carries over is the discipline of reading the actual policy and identifying tangible damage, the alleged accident and applicable exclusions.

The greenhouse decision that deserves attention

In Houweling Nurseries Oxnard Inc. v Saskatoon Boiler Mfg. Co. Ltd., 2011 SKQB 112, the claimant operated a large tomato greenhouse in California and sued a Saskatchewan boiler manufacturer over serious performance problems. The loss involved reduced production and other costs. At paragraphs 190 to 197, the court treated the reduced production as consequential economic loss associated with damage to tomato plants. At paragraphs 213 to 216, the court also discussed whether the losses related to tangible property damage when considering an agreement tied to insurance.

There's a significant limit to the case. The liability insurer wasn't a party to a coverage determination, and the court expressly declined to determine how much insurance was available. It would be inaccurate to describe Houweling as a ruling that a CGL insurer must indemnify every greenhouse production loss. Its value is the court's careful recognition that lost production may follow physical damage to living crops, while separate contract and policy questions remain.

The distinction appears in a different form in Green Rise Foods Inc. v N.V. Hagelunie, 2026 ONCA 334. Greenhouse tomatoes were destroyed after a boiler malfunctioned and a monitor failed to detect excessive carbon monoxide. The Ontario Court of Appeal held that the coverage analysis couldn't stop with the most immediate event in a longer causal sequence. The matter was returned for trial. This was horticultural property and business interruption insurance, not a CGL indemnity claim, but it illustrates the danger of treating the final visible event as the only possible cause.

A defence doesn't establish indemnity

Canadian law separates the question of whether an insurer must defend a claim from the later question of whether it must pay an insured's liability. Under Progressive Homes, a defence can be required where the substance of the pleaded facts creates a mere possibility of coverage, even though those allegations haven't been proved. The court must look beyond the claimant's labels and examine the real claim. Monenco Ltd. v Commonwealth Insurance Co., 2001 SCC 49 confirms the importance of the substance of the allegations and the relevant policy exclusion.

A defence provided under a reservation of rights therefore isn't an admission that indemnity is owed. It also doesn't prove that indemnity is unavailable. The insurer may be obliged to finance the defence while preserving a legitimate dispute over the final character of the loss, the period in which property damage occurred or a particular exclusion. For agricultural claims, those disputes often depend on what plants were actually affected, whether the relevant injury developed during the insured period and whether crop loss followed a covered occurrence.

An agricultural claim may also contain several heads of damage. Destroyed plants, the cost of replanting, lost yield from injured acreage, a wasted input purchase and disappointing profits aren't necessarily covered on the same footing. The fact that the plaintiff quantifies all of them as damages doesn't make every head damages because of covered property damage.

Several causes can occupy the same field

Fields are exposed to weather, soil conditions, disease, seed quality, application methods and equipment performance. More than one condition may contribute to a particular result. Insurance analysis shouldn't turn that ordinary agricultural reality into a presumption that only 1 cause matters.

In Derksen v 539938 Ontario Ltd., 2001 SCC 72, the Supreme Court considered concurrent causes under a CGL exclusion. The case wasn't agricultural. Its importance lies in rejecting an automatic rule that an excluded cause always defeats coverage whenever another covered cause also operated. The wording of the exclusion remains central, and a policy may expressly address concurrent causes differently.

That principle doesn't resolve the factual cause of a crop loss. It indicates why adjusters and insureds need evidence capable of separating different contributing mechanisms. Field maps, application records, weather observations, soil tests, planting dates, photographs, yield maps and preserved samples can explain whether the pleaded damage is compatible with a particular agricultural event. An expert's alternative hypothesis should be tested against available facts rather than accepted merely because several natural causes are possible.

The exclusions may become decisive

The initial grant of coverage is only part of the inquiry. Professional services exclusions, products and completed operations wording, damage to the insured's product or work, impaired property provisions, contractual liability, pollution exclusions and specific agricultural endorsements can materially alter the outcome. An agronomist selling inputs and providing recommendations may face different insurance questions from a custom applicator whose chemical treatment physically damages someone else's established crop.

United States agricultural coverage decisions provide concrete comparisons, but they must not be mistaken for Canadian precedent. In Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. v Earthsoils Inc., 812 N.W.2d 873 (Minn. Ct. App. 2012), a failed anticipated corn yield without demonstrated injury to the crop was treated as an economic shortfall outside the physical property damage requirement. In Delta & Pine Land Co. v Nationwide Agribusiness Insurance Co., 530 F.3d 395 (5th Cir. 2008), the specific seed merchants endorsement changed the coverage analysis for losses involving erroneous mixing of seed. In Scottsdale Insurance Co. v Universal Crop Protection Alliance LLC, 620 F.3d 926 (8th Cir. 2010), a pollution exclusion defeated coverage for claims about herbicide damage to cotton. Each result depended on its own policy and governing law.

The lesson for Canadian businesses isn't to transplant those American conclusions. It's to examine the endorsements and exclusions actually purchased before assuming that a recognizable agricultural hazard will necessarily be insured.

What an effective coverage review needs

A coverage opinion should begin with the alleged legal liability and the policy that might insure it. It then needs a disciplined account of the property allegedly injured, the event said to have caused that injury, the date of physical damage, the claimed heads of loss and any policy language changing the general CGL grant. In an agronomy dispute, these questions are inseparable from the quality and timing of the field evidence.

The insured's professional responsibilities and the insurer's promise must also be kept distinct. A professional can be liable for advice that caused loss without necessarily having CGL coverage for that liability. Equally, an insurer may have a defence obligation before the underlying facts are resolved. Reaching either conclusion requires more than pointing to a certificate of insurance or an expert's calculation of lost bushels.

For agricultural enterprises, the practical objective is to identify the insurance gap before the next season, not just explain it after litigation begins. Understanding the difference between physical crop injury, loss of use and disappointed yield makes that conversation more precise. It also helps businesses decide whether they need separate professional liability, product liability or specialized agricultural endorsements rather than relying on a general policy to do work it never promised to perform.

Authorities and scope

The governing Canadian authorities discussed here include Progressive Homes, 2010 SCC 33, Monenco, 2001 SCC 49, Derksen, 2001 SCC 72 and Houweling, 2011 SKQB 112. Green Rise, 2026 ONCA 334 is a related horticultural first party coverage decision. The 3 American cases are expressly comparative. None of this determines coverage under an unproduced insurance policy.

Ask Binder Counsel

Keep the value working

Have Binder keep watching this for you.

Follow the issue, see what changes next and keep related Canadian developments attached to the same business context.

0Related developments
0Related cases
0Premium tools

Read the source ↗