Canadian coverage, with verified short holdings, original analysis and links to the underlying sources. A publication date isn't the same as a decision date. The dates below identify which is shown.
179 verified publications. Showing the 36 most recent.
Decision 2026-03-26 · Open coverageOntario's insurance broker discipline panel found misconduct where a broker allowed an unlicensed intermediary to perform regulated client work, including handling an insurance application, despite the client's consent and the brokerage's knowledge of the arrangement. A broker cannot delegate licensing obligations by consent, although the absence of client harm or dishonest intent supported a reprimand and ethics education instead of a harsher penalty.
Decision 2026-09-28 · Open coverageThe BC Supreme Court preserved a civil jury’s $103,000 personal injury damages award, holding that a $1,056.78 upward rounding adjustment was a procedural irregularity rather than an invalid verdict. The court directed the final order to reflect the adjustment while an appeal of the jury verdict remained outstanding.
Decision 2026-09-11 · Open coverageThe BC Supreme Court set aside the dismissal of a restaurant patron’s battery claim after finding that the trial judge misapplied the legal test for consent and self-defence. It ordered a new trial without deciding whether the restaurant was liable for its employee’s conduct.
Decision 2026-09-21 · Open coverageThe BC Supreme Court dismissed a truck fire product liability action because the truck, components and records had been destroyed, creating a substantial risk that a fair trial was impossible. It declined to find spoliation because the evidence did not establish that the items were destroyed to affect the litigation.
Decision 2026-10-19 · Open coverageThe BC Supreme Court distinguished accident-related injuries from the risks posed by a pedestrian’s pre-existing spinal condition and awarded $702,964 following an admitted-liability motor vehicle collision. Its assessment applied thin-skull and crumbling-skull principles to the evidence, without deciding any insurance coverage issue.
Decision 2026-07-03 · Open coverageThe statutory condition governing when a life insurance contract takes effect is analytically distinct from later contestability rules. The Court of Appeal allowed Canada Life’s appeal and set aside summary judgment.
Decision 2026-06-03 · Open coverageNot every failure connected with cooperation or notice is sufficient to defeat coverage. The Court of Appeal dismissed the insurer’s appeal.
Decision 2026-05-11 · Open coverageWhere a loss results from a sequence of events, coverage analysis cannot stop at the immediate physical cause. The Court of Appeal allowed the appeal from summary judgment for the insurer.
Decision 2026-04-30 · Open coverageOntario’s insurer priority regime requires the first insurer receiving an application to pay pending resolution and to give timely notice if another insurer is said to be responsible. The Court of Appeal allowed Zurich’s appeal and reinstated the arbitrator’s decision requiring Chubb to pay the benefits.
Decision 2026-02-20 · Open coverageThe tribunal reasonably applied the statutory employment and disability requirements to the record. The Court upheld the tribunal decision and dismissed the petition.
Decision 2026-03-04 · Open coverageThe reasonable efforts requirement is contextual. On a severed liability determination, the Court found the defendants liable and held that the plaintiff had made all reasonable efforts required by section 24 of the Insurance (Vehicle) Act.
Decision 2026-06-30 · Open coverageRule 26.01 does not require a late amendment where it would cause non-compensable prejudice. The Court of Appeal dismissed the insurers’ appeal from the refusal to permit the amendment.
Decision 2026-04-29 · Open coverageThere was a sufficient fair issue to be tried concerning breach of trust and fiduciary obligations over premium funds. The Court lifted the stay so the insurers could commence and continue their proposed action against Stratford.
Decision 2026-09-09 · Open coverageAn endorsement must be read with the policy as a whole. The Ontario Court of Appeal held that the ransomware endorsement governed the loss and its US$3 million retention applied.
Decision 2026-07-24 · Open coverageThe existence of the dealership’s garage policy did not itself establish liability coverage for this Jeep in these circumstances. The Court held that the Jeep was not insured for operation on a highway under the applicable 2018 statutory and regulatory scheme and dismissed the dealership’s petition for indemnity.
Decision 2026-04-21 · Open coverageThe requested discovery was relevant to live issues including what occurred when coverage was placed, when a plausible broker negligence claim became discoverable, and damages. The Court granted the broker’s document production and further discovery applications, with costs in the cause.
Decision 2026-07-30 · Open coverageOPCF 21A distinguishes vehicles already owned or leased when the policy starts from vehicles acquired during the policy term. The Ontario Court of Appeal allowed Dominion's appeal and set aside the declaration requiring it to defend and indemnify West York.
Decision 2026-09-25 · Open coverageBroker negligence required proof both of a breach of the broker’s duty and compensable loss caused by the absence of suitable coverage. The Court dismissed the claim against the broker.
Decision 2026-09-24 · Open coverageMandatory insurance wording must be read in the context of the regulatory scheme it serves. The Ontario Court of Appeal allowed the appeal.
Decision 2026-04-13 · Open coverageA decision refusing to set aside default could not stand where its central conclusion rested on a material misunderstanding of evidence about which vehicle the messages concerned and whether the producer had accepted responsibility. The Supreme Court granted judicial review.
Decision 2026-04-01 · Open coverageAn insurer controlling the defence owes good faith and must give the insured’s interests at least equal consideration where policy limits create personal exposure. The Court found breaches of duty by ICBC, defence counsel and independent counsel and assessed a 15% lost chance to avoid or reduce the insured’s loss.
Decision 2026-01-12 · Open coverageUnder SABS sections 32 and 34, ignorance of the rules and an uncorroborated assertion of cognitive impairment did not adequately explain the delays. The Tribunal barred the claim under SABS section 55(1), excluded an affidavit provided contrary to the case conference order, and vacated any substantive hearing date.
Decision 2026-03-03 · Open coverageThe statutory reasonable efforts inquiry is holistic and fact specific. The Court of Appeal allowed the appeal, held that all reasonable efforts had been made in the circumstances, and remitted the matter to the trial court for assessment of damages.
Decision 2026-01-12 · Open coverageThe evidence did not establish grounds to leave the Minor Injury Guideline, and the insurer denial complied with statutory medical reasons requirements. The applicant remained within the $3,500 Minor Injury Guideline.
Decision 2026-06-12 · Open coverageThe Court deferred to the chambers judge’s discretionary conclusion that the case was not suitable for summary determination. The Court of Appeal dismissed both appeals from the refusal to summarily dismiss the action.
Decision 2026-07-20 · Open coverageAn insurer’s written refusal notice under SABS s. Section 54 of the SABS requires the insurer to advise of the right to dispute the refusal through an application to the LAT, not every potential later reconsideration, appeal or judicial review route (paras.
Decision 2026-02-18 · Open coverageOn a post limitation pleading amendment, the overriding question is what is just and convenient. The Court allowed the amendments.
Decision 2025-09-04 · Open coverageA broker who learns that an insurer will not renew a policy must promptly investigate the impact and attempt immediate direct contact with the client, documenting attempts, instead of relying only on a late mailed letter (original reasons paragraphs 9-15, 23). The panel found misconduct under O Reg 991 s 15(1)(9) for breach of Code of Conduct s 14(3), accepted the joint penalty proposal, reprimanded the broker, and imposed a $1,500 fine effective September 4, 2025 (original reasons paragraphs 16-19).
Decision 2026-06-03 · Open coverageAn SEF 44 claim is discoverable when the insured has accumulated enough evidence to have a reasonable chance of showing that the claim exceeds the statutory minimum liability limit. The Court held that the two year limitation period had expired but exercised its statutory discretion to disallow The Personal’s limitation defence, allowing the SEF 44 claim to proceed.
Decision 2026-07-10 · Open coverageThe words in historic correspondence had to be read against the commercial context, including the ability of an MGA to withhold a book transfer. The appellate court upheld the interpretation that release and transfer of the book was not a relinquishment of agency servicing fees.
Decision 2026-03-26 · Open coverageThe panel held that a licensed broker may not delegate licensed brokerage work to an unlicensed referral source, particularly execution of an insurance application, even when clients consent or brokerage personnel know of the referral relationship (paras 18-20). Panel accepted guilty plea under O Reg 991, Code of Conduct paragraphs 14.1, 14.3 and 14.6 for failing to maintain integrity, diligent client service, and safekeeping of client material.
Decision 2026-02-20 · Open coverageThe certification record supported a narrowed contract and discrete good faith theory concerning EI disability deductions, but not the broader proposed causes of action and remedies. The Court concluded that a narrowed class and five common issues concerning deductions of Employment Insurance disability benefits could otherwise meet certification requirements, but the proposed representative plaintiff was not adequate for that narrowed class.
Decision 2026-09-15 · Open coverageBritish Columbia's statutory condition on material change in risk requires prompt written notice of a change that is material and within the insured's knowledge and control. The British Columbia Court of Appeal dismissed the appeal.
Decision 2026-10-21 · Open coverageA driver blamed an unsafe lane change for a 3 vehicle collision, but BC's Civil Resolution Tribunal found he had time to rebuild a safe following distance. ICBC's finding that he was 100% responsible stood, even though the other driver technically broke a lane change rule.
Published 2026-10-25 · Open coverageOSFI says federally regulated property and casualty insurers face revised PC1, PC2, PC3 and PCPROV reporting forms as IFRS 18 takes effect in 2027. The Q4 2026 forms remain unchanged, and implementation depends on each insurer's fiscal year end.
Published 2026-10-25 · Open coverageFSRA alleges a life insurance agent used the protected Financial Advisor title without an approved credential. A hearing has been requested and no final finding is reported.