Coverage connected to Ontario, with verified short holdings, original analysis and links to the underlying sources. A publication date isn't the same as a decision date. The dates below identify which is shown.
41 verified publications. Showing the 36 most recent.
Decision 2026-03-26 · Open coverageOntario's insurance broker discipline panel found misconduct where a broker allowed an unlicensed intermediary to perform regulated client work, including handling an insurance application, despite the client's consent and the brokerage's knowledge of the arrangement. A broker cannot delegate licensing obligations by consent, although the absence of client harm or dishonest intent supported a reprimand and ethics education instead of a harsher penalty.
Decision 2026-07-03 · Open coverageThe statutory condition governing when a life insurance contract takes effect is analytically distinct from later contestability rules. The Court of Appeal allowed Canada Life’s appeal and set aside summary judgment.
Decision 2026-06-03 · Open coverageNot every failure connected with cooperation or notice is sufficient to defeat coverage. The Court of Appeal dismissed the insurer’s appeal.
Decision 2026-05-11 · Open coverageWhere a loss results from a sequence of events, coverage analysis cannot stop at the immediate physical cause. The Court of Appeal allowed the appeal from summary judgment for the insurer.
Decision 2026-04-30 · Open coverageOntario’s insurer priority regime requires the first insurer receiving an application to pay pending resolution and to give timely notice if another insurer is said to be responsible. The Court of Appeal allowed Zurich’s appeal and reinstated the arbitrator’s decision requiring Chubb to pay the benefits.
Decision 2026-06-30 · Open coverageRule 26.01 does not require a late amendment where it would cause non-compensable prejudice. The Court of Appeal dismissed the insurers’ appeal from the refusal to permit the amendment.
Decision 2026-09-09 · Open coverageAn endorsement must be read with the policy as a whole. The Ontario Court of Appeal held that the ransomware endorsement governed the loss and its US$3 million retention applied.
Decision 2026-07-30 · Open coverageOPCF 21A distinguishes vehicles already owned or leased when the policy starts from vehicles acquired during the policy term. The Ontario Court of Appeal allowed Dominion's appeal and set aside the declaration requiring it to defend and indemnify West York.
Decision 2026-09-24 · Open coverageMandatory insurance wording must be read in the context of the regulatory scheme it serves. The Ontario Court of Appeal allowed the appeal.
Decision 2026-01-12 · Open coverageUnder SABS sections 32 and 34, ignorance of the rules and an uncorroborated assertion of cognitive impairment did not adequately explain the delays. The Tribunal barred the claim under SABS section 55(1), excluded an affidavit provided contrary to the case conference order, and vacated any substantive hearing date.
Decision 2026-01-12 · Open coverageThe evidence did not establish grounds to leave the Minor Injury Guideline, and the insurer denial complied with statutory medical reasons requirements. The applicant remained within the $3,500 Minor Injury Guideline.
Decision 2026-07-20 · Open coverageAn insurer’s written refusal notice under SABS s. Section 54 of the SABS requires the insurer to advise of the right to dispute the refusal through an application to the LAT, not every potential later reconsideration, appeal or judicial review route (paras.
Decision 2025-09-04 · Open coverageA broker who learns that an insurer will not renew a policy must promptly investigate the impact and attempt immediate direct contact with the client, documenting attempts, instead of relying only on a late mailed letter (original reasons paragraphs 9-15, 23). The panel found misconduct under O Reg 991 s 15(1)(9) for breach of Code of Conduct s 14(3), accepted the joint penalty proposal, reprimanded the broker, and imposed a $1,500 fine effective September 4, 2025 (original reasons paragraphs 16-19).
Decision 2026-03-26 · Open coverageThe panel held that a licensed broker may not delegate licensed brokerage work to an unlicensed referral source, particularly execution of an insurance application, even when clients consent or brokerage personnel know of the referral relationship (paras 18-20). Panel accepted guilty plea under O Reg 991, Code of Conduct paragraphs 14.1, 14.3 and 14.6 for failing to maintain integrity, diligent client service, and safekeeping of client material.
Published 2026-10-25 · Open coverageFSRA alleges a life insurance agent used the protected Financial Advisor title without an approved credential. A hearing has been requested and no final finding is reported.
Decision 2026-03-27 · Open coverageA named beneficiary kept the proceeds of 2 segregated fund policies after the court rejected his brother’s alleged sharing promise and resulting trust claim. The judge preferred the statutory beneficiary designation framework and ordered the money released from court.
Decision 2026-02-27 · Open coverageOntario's Divisional Court upheld accident benefits eligibility for a university basketball player who lived away from home but depended principally on his sister for care. The Tribunal assessed practical, emotional and social support, and the insurer showed neither legal error nor unreasonableness. The appeal and judicial review were dismissed.
Decision 2026-09-17 · Open coverageReporting a collision and vehicle damage didn't notify Intact that the insured intended to claim statutory accident benefits. Ontario's Court of Appeal restored the tribunal's rejection of a claim made much later, while confirming that a reasonable explanation can excuse late notice under the regulations.
Decision 2026-01-19 · Open coverageThe Divisional Court upheld the refusal of catastrophic accident benefits where the recalculated impairment remained below the 55% threshold. It accepted the tribunal's use of more recent clinical findings and its authority to correct technical rating errors without a new hearing.
Decision 2026-02-25 · Open coverageA CT confirmed brain contusion cannot be treated as a minor injury simply because Ontario's accident benefits rules mention contusions. The Divisional Court overturned the tribunal's interpretation and took the insured out of the $3,500 Minor Injury Guideline.
Decision 2026-06-10 · Member analysisA vacant building's exposed rear wall breached its policy warranty despite repairs to a front fence. The insurer owed no indemnity for the fire, but repayment and final costs remained unresolved.
Decision 2001-10-19 · Open coverageA fatal truck accident had two distinct causes. The Supreme Court held that a CGL automobile exclusion didn't eliminate coverage for the separate workplace negligence that contributed to the same loss.
Published 2026-10-17 · Open coverageOntario's July 2026 benefit changes make customer elections, renewal evidence and listed driver eligibility critical to a reliable claim decision.
Decision 2026-03-26 · Member analysisAn Ontario insurance broker admitted misconduct after letting an unlicensed referrer handle client work, including an application signature. Client consent and employer awareness didn't transfer the broker's regulatory duties. The confidentiality allegation was withdrawn, and the panel ordered a reprimand and ethics training.
Decision 2025-09-04 · Member analysisAn Ontario broker was reprimanded and fined $1,500 after a rental property owner's insurance expired without timely warning. The disciplinary panel said a letter wasn't enough when immediate contact was possible.
Decision 2026-07-20 · Member analysisOntario's Divisional Court upheld a refusal notice that explained how and when to challenge accident benefits at the LAT. The notice didn't have to list every later appeal or spell out the law of discoverability.
Decision 2026-01-12 · Member analysisThe Ontario Licence Appeal Tribunal barred a pedestrian’s accident benefits application after a lengthy delay. The insurer had provided the forms and followed up, while the claimant offered no medical evidence explaining why he couldn’t comply.
Decision 2026-01-12 · Member analysisA January tribunal ruling illustrates the evidentiary burden of leaving Ontario’s minor injury treatment framework.
Published 2026-10-15 · Open coverageFSRA's October 14 update addresses fleet policies, rideshare coverage reductions and who may receive optional accident benefits.
Decision 2026-06-30 · Open coverageThe Ontario Court of Appeal refused to let liability insurers add civil fraud just before trial because the alleged dishonesty was already pleaded and the amendment would cause unfair prejudice.
Decision 2026-07-30 · Open coverageThe Ontario Court of Appeal rejected retroactive fleet coverage under OPCF 21A for a leased car added to a monthly schedule only after a collision. The request date governed, not the earlier policy inception date.
Published 2026-10-08 · Open coverageOntario’s insurance regulator has imposed $90,000 in combined administrative penalties and licence conditions following a settlement over unlicensed activity and inaccurate regulatory information.
Published 2026-10-06 · Open coverageFSRA has closed consultation on its 2026 draft Ontario Private Passenger Vehicles Annual Review. The draft assembles industry cost and trend data used to inform future private passenger auto rate filing reviews.
Decision 2026-09-24 · Open coverageOntario’s Court of Appeal held that a mandatory mortgage broker fraud endorsement covered client money misappropriated while it was held in trust for a proposed mortgage transaction. The regulatory purpose of the required insurance mattered to how the policy was read.
Published 2026-10-06 · Open coverageOntario licensed auto insurers must submit the 2026 Annual Auto Insurance Attestation through FSRA’s Online Services Portal by October 30, 2026. The filing requires certification by the CEO or the most senior officer responsible for Ontario operations.
Decision 2026-09-17 · Open coverageOntario's Court of Appeal held that reporting a collision to an insurer does not itself notify the insurer that the insured intends to claim statutory accident benefits.